Ms. Bergman's Virtual Resources
 
Choose one of the following topics and write a few paragraphs in response. You may want to write it in Word or Pages then copy and paste it as a comment on this blog post.

  1. Write a diary entry from the perspective of Miss Maudie. Discuss her conversation with Scout about Boo Radley.
  2. Write the scene where Jem loses his pants from Jem's perspective.


(How to Comment: Click the "# Comments" above the post, use your first name and last initial only, your google docs email and you can leave website blank. Paste your post into the comment box.)
Nicole M.
2/2/2011 09:22:45 pm

Dear Journal, Today was an eventful day. I first started my day off normal, working in the garden but when dusk hit, I had a memorable conversation with Scout about Arthur Radley. The conversation first struck up when Scout abruptly asked if “Boo” Radley was still alive. I quickly scolded her for calling him that. His name is Arthur. Then I answered her question saying he was still alive. Then I tried to advoid the conversation by talking about my flowers. However, being as strong willed as she is, she kept asking. Her next question was how did I know he was still alive. I replied with “ Because I haven’t sent them carry him out yet “. She told me stories that Jem had told her about how he heard that Arthur had died and they stuffed him up the chimney. That boy is becoming more and more like Atticus’s brother its ridiculous. Who in the world would believe a story like that? Scout then kept continuing the conversation. I didn’t stop her because to think of it, it was nice to have someone to talk to. She asked about the real story, and why the Radley’s barley step foot outside of their house. I told her that they were very conservative foot-washing Baptist. She thought that what I was, but I replied that I was a normal Baptist. Told her how people like that looked down on me for always being in my garden. I just waved that out of bothering me. For a child I can see why this was such an intriguing ordeal. I will agree with her that the family is strange, but I keep to myself about that. I think if people just minded their own business, rumors and lies about the family wouldn’t be common.

Reply
Emily Sheaffer
2/2/2011 09:23:31 pm

Diary Entry That girl is quite extraordinary. Her brother has got her mind filled with all those crazy stories about that Arthur Radley. The one I don’t understand is how Jem Finch told her that Arthur Radley is stuffed up the chimney. That boy is more and more like Jack Finch everyday. I enjoy talking to Scout Finch. She makes me feel young again talking about all those crazy rumors. There is nothing better than sitting on the porch watching the night sky and helping Scout Finch come back to reality in regards to that Radley house. She is quite the tomboy and I would like to help her break that. She sure seems to enjoy sitting with me. My favorite thing to do for Charles Baker Harris, Jem Finch, and Scout Finch is to bake them one of my cakes and then sit and talk to them. Those kids have such an imagination, and I love that. Scout is so curious about things that have happened in this town. And she tries to understand them, but she is just too young to understand them. Just like how when I was talking to her and how I said about how if Atticus Finch drank he wouldn’t be as hard as some of the other men, not drunk. And she just didn’t understand because Atticus does not drink! I sure will miss her when she goes back to school.

Reply
Lisa K.
2/2/2011 09:23:59 pm

Dill and I had the great idea to go into the Radley’s back yard and look into the house to see if anyone was in there. It was Dill’s last night in Maycomb. Getting into the house wasn’t a problem but getting out was the scariest thing. Someone’s shadow was about a foot away from me. Scout, Dill and I ran but I got caught in the fence and had to take my pants off to get away. Mr. Radley shot off his shotgun and the whole neighborhood came. We all ran back to my house and went back to the Radley’s so it wouldn’t be obvious that it was us. When we got to everyone Mr. Radley said that he’ll be shooting at the next sound he hears coming from his collard patch, no matter what it is. Atticus looked at me and said, “Where are your pants, son?” I was so clueless. I had no idea what to say. Luckly Dill was a fast thinker. “Ah-Mr. Finch,” said Dill. He explained that we were playing strip poker at the pond with matches and we were told to go get my pants. I was never more relieved in my life. I knew that I had to go back to get them, ‘cause Atticus would be wonderin’ where my pants were in the morning. I wasn’t gonna get caught if I didn’t have to. After Atticus had went to sleep, I got up but Scout stopped me. She threanted to wake Atticus up but I talked her out of it. She still insisted on comin’ with though. We went the long way back to the Radley house and I safely got my pants. Even though we were safe at home, every sound scared me and Scout more than anything. We were terrified of every sound, thinkin’ it was Boo coming after us for revenge.

Reply
Nick Wood
2/2/2011 09:24:21 pm

Then I saw it, the shadow crept over me and I was so I put my arms over my head in fear. Then it was gone, so I ran right off that porch and went with Dill and Scout. BANG! I hear the sound of a shotgun, only making me want to run even faster. We get to the schoolyard gate. I lift it up for Dill and Scout to get through and I try going through and…I’m stuck. I’m struggling to get through but its no use, so I go to the only thing I can thing of and I take off my pants and I manage to slip through. After that its full throttle sprinting to the safety of the big oak. Scout and Dill then realize im in my shorts as I explain the predicament. We casually walk back to the house until we see a crowd gathering at the Radley gate, so we go up to see what is happening to see Mr. Radley with a gun in his hand. He said a “nigger” was on his property and he scared it away. Next time it was going to be shot though. I was scared outa my pants, literally. Then Atticus approached us, he noticed my pants, er noticed they were not. Luckily Dill is fast thinking and said he won them off me in a game of strip poker. Saved. We went home, but I needed my pants back so I ran over through the school gate and got them. But the oddest thing ever, they were folded, like they were waiting for me.

Reply
Leila O
2/2/2011 09:24:30 pm

Today I sat out on my porch with Jean Louise Finch, watching the town and having discussions. The girl was rather inquisitive about the Radley family. She was asking about Arthur, and comparing my answers to the ideas her brother had given her. That Jem, I swear he gets more and more like his Uncle Jack every single day that passes by. Jean Louise, referred to as Scout, asked me after we’d been sitting for a while if I thought ‘Boo Radley’ was still alive. When I said yes of course he’s still alive, she looked confused and asked how I knew for certain he hadn’t died. I told her patiently that we would have heard about it or seen him being carried out. The next words shocked me. She told me “Maybe he died and they stuffed him up the chimney.” I asked her where the heck she’d gotten that idea from, and of course she’d gotten it from her older, supposedly smarter, brother Jem. She also asked why he doesn’t come out, if he is alive. I’d reminded her of the story of the foot-washing Baptist. When i had finished explaining the story to her, she asked if he doesn’t come out so he can avoid women and sins. Of course, I had no idea if that was the actual case, I’d just told her what i knew. Thinking back on it now, I probably shouldn’t have brought up the whiskey comparison. The girl was so shocked because she thought I was sayin her father was drinkin whiskey. Arthur Radley, though, was the sweetest boy when he was younger. He’d speak to me with the nicest words he knew, and I don’t know how on Earth he became to be the lonely, isolated man he is now.

Reply
Christine Wolfe
2/2/2011 09:24:47 pm

Tonight Scout asked me if I believe Boo Radley is still alive. I told her I do believe he is and his name is Arthur. She thought they stuffed him up the chimney instead of carry his body out. That child has been told all kinds of crazy stuff. She also wanted to know why he doesn’t come outside. I told her about how Mr.Radley is a foot- washing baptist. She asked if I was one too. I told her I wash my feet in a bathtub. I told her about how the foot-washers believe anything that gives you pleasure is a sin. I told her about how they believe I spend too much time outside and that I would burn with my flowers. She said that that isn’t right, and that I’m the best lady she knows. She also asked me if I believe everything that they say about Arthur. I asked her what she was told, and she told me. I responded with telling her that is was,”Three-fourths colored folks and one-fourth Stephanie Crawford.” I told her about how Arthur always talked to me nicely to me. I was talking about what happens behind closed doors and she said that Atticus doesn’t ever do anything to them or in the yard. I told her I wasn’t even thinking about her father. Our conversation ended, and I asked her if she would like some fresh pancakes.

Reply
Alex A.
2/2/2011 09:24:54 pm

This should be easy. Just cross the fence, walk through the backyard and go up to the window and look in. What could possibly go wrong. Why do we have to hold Dill up, if only the window was a little lower. I hope we don’t drop him that would be really bad. I wonder who is moving around in the house. Who ever it is, is really close. They haven’t left I hope they didn’t see me. Finally who ever it was walked away. Ok it’s time to get out of here. Get Dill and Scout through the fence and everything will be fine. All we have to do is get back to the schoolyard. Someone just shot a shotgun! Run! Of course Dill and Scout make it through the fence no problem but I get stuck. Why wont my pants come off this isn’t fair. Finally I’m free. That was really close, I wonder what would’ve happened if that old man would’ve caught me in his fence. Oh well, we just have to get back to the oak tree.

Reply
Taylor Cairns
2/2/2011 09:25:18 pm

Dear Diary, Today I shouted for Scout Finch, her brother Jem Finch and Charles Harris Baker. These children would come to my on a regular basis over the summer and I would treat them to baked goods and other things. Charles and Jem play some type of game together while Scout and myself would talk on my front porch. Scout can ask me anything she’d like too and I like to try my best to answer them to the fullest. But today she asked “do you think Boo Radley is still alive?” I replied and said his name was Arthur and I tried to change the subject to my flowers, but I guess Arthur was on her mind. She still continued to ask questions. Such as how I know that he is still alive. I told Scout that I never saw anyone take him out as a dead man. I didn’t know how to answer the questions about Arthur that she asked. I guess I will try to prepare an answer for Scout the next time she asks about Arthur.

Reply
Karina C
2/2/2011 09:26:46 pm

Dear Diary, As I'm sure I have previously stated, I hate my house. Time inside is time wasted. So, earlier, on this summer day, I was outside in my flower beds. I was just tending to my flowers. After my 5'o clock bath, I went back outside to my porch. After only a little bit, I saw Scout Finch walking over to me. She sat down like a normal day, and started asking questions. We had a peculiar conversations about Mr. Arthur Radley. She asked so many questions: if he was still alive, how I knew if he was alive, if the things people said about him are true. Oh, so many questions. I answered most of them until I felt she stepped over the line. I told her that she was too young to understand and sent her home with a poundcake. Miss Maudie Atkinson

Reply
Hannah H
2/2/2011 09:27:01 pm

Miss Maudie’s Perspective Dear Journal, Today I a most interestin’ conversation with Scout Finch. We was just sittin’ on my porch like usual when she straight out asked me about Mr. Arthur Radley. She called him “Boo” just like all them other gossipers, and I promptly reminded ‘er that his name is Arthur. She asked if I reckoned that he was dead and passed on, but I told ‘er that he’s livin’ in that ol’ house just like he was for years. I tried to quickly move her focus to my mimosa, but that child ain’t no fool like some in this town. That there child is somethin’ else. She went on askin’ what I thought ‘appened to ‘im after the supposed incident that was created and made sure was spread through Maycomb by Miss Stephanie Crawford. That woman sure does fluster me somethin’ fierce; diggin’ ‘er way into business that ain’t near her own. Anyway, I tried to make Scout think about Arthur ‘imself rather than what Miss Stephanie was mixin’ in her mind. He simply doesn’t want to make ‘imself a spectacle, so he stays hidden inside. Ain’t nothin’ too suspicious about a man who wants to keep to ‘imself. Scout and I got to talkin’ about me bein’ a Baptist, and how Mr. Nathan Radley was a certain type a Baptist. He ain’t like me when it comes to the good Lord. I told ‘er how them Foot-washers told me how my flowers and I would burn in hell. Scout ain’t never heard of such melancholy, and told me that I’m the best lady she knows. After a bit she asked me if I'ma believer of them tall tales people tell about Arthur. I proceeded to tell 'er that all them was three-forths colored folks and one fourth Miss Stephanie Crawford. We talked a bit more about Arthur bein' crazy before I sent 'er on 'er way. Sincerely, Miss Maudie Atkinson

Reply
Philip
2/2/2011 09:27:05 pm

2. Dill and me finally persuaded Scout to keep her mouth shut and come with us to look in the window of the Radley’s House. We went around back and squeezed under the fence. Then, when I tried to open the back gate it squeaked. Then Dill said “Spit on it Jem.” So, we all spit on it and eventually, when I opened the gate, it was silent. I was in front with Dill and Scout behind me. The back was filled with old junk, and we were creeping up to the window when Dill and Scout told me that I had to go first. When I went up to the window to look in, a shadow appeared. I ducked to avoid being seen, but someone was coming to open the door. Dill yelled to run, so we all started sprinting towards the back fence. A shotgun went off, and soon after Scout tripped. Dill and me ran back to help her. When Dill and Scout got under the fence, I got stuck. So, I slipped out of my pants, leaving them there, and ran to catch up to them.

Reply
Jamie A.
2/2/2011 09:27:58 pm

Dear Diary, Today I had the oddest conversation with Scout. She kept asking about Boo Radley. She is so curious, and one of these days, it will get her in trouble. I also thought she would have more sense than to believe what Miss Stephanie Crawford says. Miss Stephanie spreads the most ridiculous gossip about the Radleys! Some of this I believe is also the work of Dill and Jem. Dill has such an interest in the Radleys that he gets the other two children all worked up about it as well. So I just told Scout that Mr. Radley just like staying inside and not to be bothered. I hope Scout doesn’t get herself and Jem into too much trouble.

Reply
Collin Krall
2/2/2011 09:29:41 pm

(Paragraph) Today might have been the scariest day of my life. I’m scared to death to go back to the Radley’s, but curiosity is telling me to return. I mean, seeing that shadow cross my body was scary enough, and on top of that I got shot at! That man has issues. Who pulls out a shot gun at a kid? Well, he didn’t think I was a kid. There’s a plus to this whole event, I got off without a punishment, for going to the Radley’s. Except for being completely embarrassed running around without pants on. Although, that’s a small pric to pay considering what could have happened. (Paragraph) I have a feeling Dill is going to want to go back, I’m not sure I’m up for it. I know Scout isn’t. Every time I looked back from the house her eyes were wide and frightened. I don’t mind at all if she doesn’t go, as long as she keeps her mouth shut. (Paragraph) I think Atticus is on to me. He’s too smart to know that I would show up late to a chance to see Mr.Radley in action. He also knows I hat strip poker, that cover up may have fooled everyone else, but I doubt it effected him in the least bit.

Reply
Maddie Brewer
2/2/2011 09:30:06 pm

Tonight Dill, Scout, and I went to the Radley place to look inside and see if Boo was still there. It was one of the scariest things I’ve ever done, but I’ll never admit that out loud. We were all standing outside the house planning on how we were going through with our plan. I ended up being the lucky one to go up to the porch and look inside the window while Dill and Scout were there to help me if need be. We crept up to a side window with shutter that was up a few inches taller than me, so Dill and Scout gave me a boost. I didn’t see him, but I saw a very small light off in the distance. I said we should go around and look through a back window. Scout was protesting the idea, but I just continued on. When I arrived at the Radley back porch I slowing tip toed up the steps. It squeaked a little so I skipped two steps and made a silent leap onto the porch. I went down on my knees as to not be seen. I shuffled over to the window and looked in and saw a shadow. It was of a man who was wearing a hat. It then moved across the porch towards me and eventually crossed me. I put my hands over my head and started to slightly shake out of horror. The it stopped when it was about a foot away from me and lifted it’s arm, dropped it, and was still. Then, It turned and walked away toward the side of the house. I leap of the porch and started running with Dill and Scout behind me. “Fence by the school yard!--hurry, Scout!” I shouted. I held up the wire of then fence and let Dill and Scout through, then when I proceeded I got caught on the wire by my pants. I continued to struggle to take my pants off while Dill and Scout were still running. I was so terrified! I then saw Dill and Scout turn around and come to me. After a bit of struggle I broke free of my pants and left them there and ran to the safety of the oak tree.

Reply
Olivia C
2/2/2011 09:30:23 pm

Jem looses his pants I am going to tell you about how Jem lost his pants. It all happened on the day that Dill was leaving town, because it was the last day of summer. Jem and Dill decided that they were going to sneak in the back yard of Boo Radley’s house and look in his window to find out if he could see anything or anyone. Jem and Dill ended up dragging Scout into this little idea of theirs. So all three of them left for Boo Radley’s, snuck in his back yard and looked in the window. They saw nothing but some window curtains. Then as they were going to leave, Jem decided that he was going to look in the back window on the porch. As he walked up a step it made a creek and a shadow walked over to where Jem was standing. Jem, Scout and Dill went running as fast as they could out of the Radley’s yard. As they were trying to crawl through the fence they herd a gunshot and became even more scared. All three of them darted home as fast as they could get their with out looking back. When they got home they realized all the neighbor”s were at the front of the Radley’s house, because of all the commotion heard. The three walked over to all the neighbor’s and asked what was going on, so it wouldn’t seem suspicious. Atticus asked Jem asked Jem the question of where his pants were, and an answer had to be thought of quick. Dill stated that they were playing strip poker, although Jem really lost his pant on the fence when trying to get out of the Radley’s yard.That is how Jem lost his pants.

Reply
Margo Keller
2/2/2011 09:33:06 pm

Dear Journal, Tonight was the most terrifying night of my life. Scout, Dill and I decided that tonight was going to be the night we tried to get Boo Radley to come out. Today was the last day of summer so if we would have been shot at least we would at least miss school instead of summer vacation. The plan was to sneak around the back of the Radley’s house and look in the window to see if Boo was actually in the house and still alive. I don’t know what we actually expected to see. While we were around back of the house looking in the back window, I turned around to see the shadow of a man looming over me. Scout and Dill had seen the man before I had, but when I saw him I turned rigid. Then I took off as fast as my legs could carry me. While we were running for the school yard fence, my pants got snagged on the fence. At the time I wasn’t so worried about losing my pants as being shot by the man behind the house, so I ditched my pants and ran for it. When I got home I was more worried about my pants than I was when I lost them. Mr. Radley was saying how a black man was in his yard last night, so he shot at him and scared him away. If he found my pants I would have been a goner, because then everyone in town would have known that it was me in his yard, just not a black man. Later that night I went back to his yard to try and get my pants back. When I went back, my pants were nicely folded, and the hole was stitched up, not in a nice way, but an effort had been made to fix them. It was then that I realized, Boo Radley had fixed my pants.

Reply
Kathleen G.
2/2/2011 09:33:42 pm

2) I didn’t notice the shadow at first but when I did, I took-off in a full out sprint off the Radley lot. Scout tripped and fell to the ground and Dill and I dove right next to her and we had to quickly think of a plan because the sound of a shotgun firing filled the empty Maycomb County air and those gunshots were toward us. So I yelled, “Fence by the schoolyard- Hurry scout!” I sprinted to the fence and held the bottom wire letting Dill and Scout pass though. Then right after Scout went through I tried to go through but I was caught. Dill and Scout were already halfway to the shelter on the schoolyard and they turned back realizing that I wasn’t with them. My pants were caught onto the wire of the fence. I kept kicking and struggling then finally I broke free of the wire… and my pants. So I ran with them, in my shorts, to the shelter. We were safely behind the shelter and my mind was racing and my heart was pounding out of control. As soon as I caught my breath I told them, “We gotta get home, they’ll miss us.” So we ran across the schoolyard carefully crawled under the fence, ran through the pasture, and then climbed our fence to the backyard. We reached our back steps and the most incredible sigh of relief came over me. The only problem was that I lost my pants. We walked to the front yard as if nothing happened to see the commotion in front of the Radley’s home. Atticus looked at me and said, “Where are your pants, son?” I was too scared to answer but luckily Dill covered me with an excuse to go home. I was so relieved. Later that night, when I knew for sure that Atticus was asleep I went back to the fence to get my pants. When I got there my heart stopped. My pants were neatly folded and the whole from the wire was sewed. Someone knew I was going to come back for these. I was terrified, so I grabbed my pants and darted home.

Reply
Rebeka P
2/3/2011 11:51:02 am

Journal Entry Today, Jean Louis Finch came to my porch just like any other day. She's been doing this lately because Jem and Dill are getting closer, but are leaving her behind. I don't mind her, but today she asked the most bizarre questions. She asked about Arthur Radley. She told me myths about him. Most of her information came from her brother. That Jem keeps on acting more and more like his uncle... Anyways, she asked if Arthur was still alive. I simply told her that I never saw his body being carried out, so I knew he wasn't dead. I also told her how he was a good-mannered gentleman when he was younger, except his father was a baptist. His father thought that I was going to hell for mending my garden! It's such a shame that such a good young boy grew up in such harsh conditions. I have heard rumors of him, but I don't believe them. Miss Stephanie Crawford even said that she saw him looking at her through her bedroom window! She always talks so much non-sense. Also, Jean Louis asked me why Arthur never came out. I thought it was a silly question. If a man wanted to come out, he would. She didn't entirely understand this because she was always outside in the sun. When we were done talking, I gave her some poundcake to take home. What a day it was.

Reply
Alena Chekanov
2/8/2011 08:46:21 pm

Dear Diary
Today Scout came to me again. Scout is such a curious little girl, and I reckon Jem and Dill are trouble makers like young boys usually are. I always bake for them, as they play all day and deserve something sweet afterwards. Scout asked me about Arthur Radley. Called him boo. I corrected her, Boo is not a respectable name to be called. She had all these crazy theories about him, told to her no doubt by Miss Stephanie Crawford and Jem. Said he was killed and his body stuffed up the chimney. I reckon he’s just a quiet man scared to be judged as I am. I told Scout that he was a Foot-washing Baptist and stays inside because of that. He was always a nice young child, but keeping him cooped up has probably driven him crazy by now. I didn’t want to stuffing her head with thoughts about things she shouldn’t be meddling in, so I offered her some poundcake, and as I thought, Arthur Radley left her mind.
Miss Maudie

Reply
Elizabeth Schomp
2/8/2011 09:56:48 pm

The shadow stopped about a foot past me, I was terrified it would see me. I held my breath and stayed still as a statue hoping it wouldn't notice me. Then just as I thought it had seen me, it turned and went the way it had come.
As soon as it was out of sight, I leaped off the porch and sprinted for Dill and Scout. Once I reached them I pushed them through the gate. We were running across the yard when the blast of a shotgun shattered the night's silence. We ran faster, and finally we reached the fence by the school yard, I held up the bottom so Dill and Scout could crawl under. Once they were through I went to crawl under, but my pants got stuck and wouldn't budge. So I just took them off and left them there.
We kept running till we hit the back steps, and when we did stop we saw everyone down by the Radley place. So we decided that we should go down to.

Reply
Deanna Kunder
2/9/2011 08:08:08 am

I stopped and stayed as still as I could when I saw that shadow in the Radley yard. He looked dead into my face and walked back around the house. Dill, Scout, and I ran as fast as we could to get out of there, when we heard a shotgun. I tried to hold in the fear and quick rushed Scout, and Dill under the fence. They were off and running, but i still had to get out, so i inched my way under but my pants somehow got stuck. I knew I had no other choice but to take them off if I wanted to live. Soon I was running with Scout and Dill we stopped back at my house, when we saw all the neighbors gathered at the Radley place and we didn't want to seem suspicious so we hurried down to everyone. I forgot about not having my pants and was speechless when they asked what had happened. Luckily Dill came up with the excuse that we were playing strip poker with matches.
Mr. Radley said he'd shoot the next thing he saw in his yard no matter what it was. Which is why I was so scared to go back in the middle of the night when I was sure Atticus was asleep. I had to get my pants or else they'd know for sure we were there last night if my pants were still stuck to the fence. But, something was wrong, when I got to the fence I saw my pants folded and sewn. I decided not to say anything to anyone about it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.